Sharing is caring!


The fifth season of Pro Badminton League a.k.a PBL is all set to begin from January 20th, 2020 and will go on till February 9th, 2020. According to the PBL 2020 Schedule, the tournament will have 24 Ties in total which would be spanned over three weeks. In the last season Bengaluru Raptors won the finale by defeated Mumbai Rockets as they scored a 4-3 verdict to become the championship. 

The Bengaluru Raptors is owned by Matrix Badminton Teamworks Pvt. Ltd. and have Kanteerava Indoor Stadium as their home turf. Coached by Arvind Bhat, the team is captained by one of India’s Ace shuttlers, Kidambi Srikanth.

Before the start of the new season of the franchise badminton tournament fans are speculating about the prospect of the defending champions, Bengaluru Raptors, actually defending their throne. They had a dream run last season to win their maiden Pro Badminton League Championship title. But will they be able to repeat history and retain what they have earned? This is the question which have been what fans have been asking.

Bengaluru Raptors were able to win the fourth edition of Pro Badminton league by all round performances and equal participation of its players. But the contribution of the pair of Hendra Setiawan and Mohammad Ahsan and the captain of the team, Kidambi Srikanth, were somewhat special. 

Bendra Setiawan and Mohammad Ahsan displayed sheer brilliance against Kim Gi Jung and Lee Yong Dae to win the PBL for their team and themselves. Kidambi Srikanth on the other hand fulfilled his responsibilities brilliantly as the captain. Not only did he extend his undefeated record but also extremely smart with the choices of trump matches for his team and made sure to earn full dividends. He showed great leadership skills to take his team to the top of the PBL points table.

If Bengaluru Raptors desire to keep their Championship, the senior players will have to step up and give a testimony of their experience once again. But at the same time, the entire squad needs to put in their best. 

Although the team feels confident at the beginning of the tournament and looks pretty good on paper, there are still too many variables involved to make any definite predictions. There might be some dips in the form of the player or even injuries along the way. But that has to be handled tactfully. And if Bengaluru Raptors are able to cover all their bases, there is no doubt that they can emerge as one of the top contenders for the title. 

But, one thing is for sure, if Bengaluru Raptors pull it off successfully, it will be no short of a fantastic feat. If will also be the first time for any team to win the PBL twice, let alone do so consecutively.

Here is the current squad of the Bengaluru Raptors for the 2020 PBL.

Current Squad

  • Kidambi Srikanth (Captain)
  • Mohammad Ahsan
  • Hendra Setiawan
  • Sai Praneeth
  • Mithun Manjunath
  • Lauren Smith
  • Sanjana Santosh
  • Marcus Ellis
  • Vu Thi Trang
  • Nguyễn Tiến Minh
READ  10 Tools Students Can Use to Design Apps & Video Games